On March 13th 2016 over 60 Specialists in Internal Medicine from all parts of Sri Lanka gathered in Kandy to form the Sri Lanka Society of Internal Medicine. The specialty of Internal Medicine was in existence in Sri Lanka for many decades but there was no society exclusively devoted for the interest of Specialists in Internal Medicine until this particular date.

This society is rapidly growing with new members both within and outside the country joining with great interest. The Society wishes to bring all Internal Medicine Specialists in the country under one umbrella and work for the betterment for the practitioners of this specialty, the patients with broader salutary and positive ramifications on all Sri Lankans.

Past Council (2016/2017)

President (2016-2017)

Dr. Wasantha Dissanayake

Senior Consultant Physician
Teaching Hospital, Kandy